The Balancing Act: A Life Lesson from a missing pair of shoes

DeeAbundantLifeCoach

DeeAbundantLifeCoach

Did you know that God has a sense of humor?  Well, He does.  During a teleconference last week, I was blessed to share from the topic:  The Balancing Act:  Achieving More by doing Less.  We live in a day and age where it’s extremely easy to get pulled into a vicious cycle of being busy more often than not. Our schedules are overloaded, we are stressed, and the foundation of our families are suffering because there is no time left to have one on one bonding time. Most couples are struggling to balance work and extracurricular activities of the children and therefore are too tired to connect intimately at the end of the day.  I believe that it is time to get back to basics and seek to achieve a healthy sense of balance by making Jesus the center of everything that we seek to accomplish for ourselves and our families.  The ideal amount of balance can be found in our commitment to P.R.E.S.S. which is an acronym for the following:

P ursue your purpose

R esist the urge to be busy

E njoy life to the fullest

S top saying yes to everything

S pend daily quality time in devotions and prayer

So what does God being funny have to do with all of this?  I recently signed my 8 year old up to be on a basketball team despite his persistence in telling me from the moment I signed him up, each day before and after the few practices/games that he attended, and throughout the week leading up to them.  So why did I move forward with it?  I made the decision because I was desperate to get him from in front of the tablet, playing video games or reading books.  I wanted to see him get involved with a team and most of all get up and moving.  I chose the game of basketball because of his height and I thought that it would be a perfect fit for him where sports are concerned.  On the day of a recent scheduled practice, we realized that he didn’t have his tennis with him so we would either have to go home and get them and circle back towards the practice location or forego practice all together.  We decided on the latter.  On to the lesson:  In the midst of preparing for the event I mentioned above, I began to see that I was imposing on my son the exact opposite of what I planned to share with the listening audience about being purposeful and intentional when it comes to scheduling and being involved in activities. While my intentions were innocent, they weren’t focused on his strengths and inner desires.  I am in no way saying that a parent should allow a child to do only the things that they want to do, but I truly believe that God has given us a great opportunity to position our children to blossom in their areas of strength as we observe their development.  For example, my son has been mesmerized by all things cars, technology and brands since he was three years old and until recently, I could not see how that would translate into an “activity”; however, I am now open to seeking out where his passions fit in the bigger scheme of things rather than continue to involve him in the “status quo” activities.  Who knows, I could be raising the next Bill Gates, and Engineer, etc. but he would be ill-prepared if I make it my mission to subject him to things that do not support his gifts. He may not be designed to be an all-pro athlete, but I’m committed to ensuring that his passions, purpose, and activities are nurtured as they come to the light.

As he continues to grow and discovers the activities that work for him, it will be my responsibility and pleasure to teach him that his source of direction can be found in the P.R.E.S.S. and not in the busyness of life.

Stay Tuned…..

To get Fuel for your Journey Blogpost updates to your inbox, please subscribe here:  http://deeabundantlifecoach.com/letsstayconnected/

Copyright @Fuel for your Journey – www.deeabundantlifecoach.com

Leave a Reply

